Logo for facebook. Logo for youtube. Logo for MapService.
Livestock Water Supply Program Reactivated


All available funding has been allocated to projects. However, livestock producers are encouraged to still apply for cost-share, should additional funding be allocated by the Commission in the future.

Severe drought conditions impacting North Dakota cattle producers have led the State Water Commission to reactivate the Drought Disaster Livestock Water Supply Project Assistance Program.

Eligible livestock producers in drought proclamation counties may qualify for up to $3,500 in cost-share assistance, for up to three projects, on the following items:

  • New water wells,
  • New rural water system connections,
  • New pipeline extensions, pasture taps, and associated works,
  • Labor, materials, and equipment rentals for work completed by the producer to develop new water supply projects.

The following counties are eligible to receive cost-share assistance at this time: Adams, Billings, Bottineau, Bowman, Burke, Burleigh, Dickey, Divide, Dunn, Emmons, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Oliver, Pierce, Ransom, Renville, Sargent, Sheridan, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Stutsman, Ward, Wells, and Williams.

Complete information on the Drought Disaster Livestock Water Supply Project Assistance Program can be found here.

Little Missouri River Commission Notice Of Meeting

The Little Missouri River Commission will meet on October 11, 2017 in Dickinson, ND at the Ramada Grand Dakota Lodge from 3:00pm-5:00pm. Agenda Materials

Upcoming Water Commission Meetings

October 12, 2017 – 9:00 a.m.
Joint meeting with interim Legislative Water Topics Overview Committee
Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol
Please note, the SWC will not be taking action on cost-share requests at this meeting.
Agenda Schedule

December 8, 2017 – 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Ramkota Hotel, Bismarck

For information, please contact Cheryl Fitzgerald at the Water Commission (701) 328-4940 or by e-mail.

Burgum Appoints Seven Members To State Water Commission

Governor Doug Burgum appointed seven members to the State Water Commission, bringing a broad variety of experience in flood protection, water supply and other water issues to the board.

The nine-member State Water Commission consists of Burgum as chairman, Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring as an ex-officio member, and seven members appointed by the governor, with one member each from the seven major drainage basins in North Dakota.

The Current - July

The Current

The Current is a quarterly Water Commission and Office of the State Engineer newsletter that provides the latest agency-specific information concerning water development, regulatory and appropriation efforts, water education, policy changes, Commission meeting highlights, and much more.

We hope you find the content useful and helpful.